Round 2: Slavich vs Lith

I was able to take the afternoon off today so hurried back into the darkroom to give this Slavich another roll. Glad I did! The topic I chose for this paper, namely our past skiing holiday of past March, was because it would take the images out of its context. Today I really liked how that came out. I upped the dose for the lith developer, think I found a smooth way of developing the sheets and changed exposure time of the paper. I feel very happy today, besides the fact I have almost run out of paper now 😉

Some techy stuff:

Paper used:
* Slavich Unibrom Grade 2 24×30 cm

Chemistry used:
* Moersch SE5 developer 100+100+1500)
* Amaloco S10 stopping bath 1+19
* Amaloco X89 fixing bath 1+4

Other variables:
* Temperature of lith developer +/- 20 degrees Celsius
* No MG filters used when exposing the paper unless stated otherwise
* Very gentle agitation, continuous but gentle, after making sure the entire paper got under first

The first print I’m about to post is the one which made me jump through the ceiling 😉 I really really like this. Exposure time of the paper 20 seconds. Snatch point at 4:11 minutes.

6_260613_blog

The negative of this print was very contrasty with good whites. That’s why I decided that for the other photos I did yesterday I should try a shorter exposure time to get more separation and softer lights. It worked!

Exposure time of 20 seconds | Snatch point at 3:58 minutes:

7_260613_blog

Exposure time of 10 seconds | Snatch point at 4:45 minutes:

9_260613_blog

Exposure time of 10 seconds | Snatch point at 4:45 minutes:

10_260613_blog

Exposure time of 10 seconds | Snatch point at 4:14 minutes | Divided the bath in two and filled up with fresh half

12-2606013_blog

Exposure time of 20 seconds | Snatch point at 4:29 minutes:

13_260613_blog

2 responses

  1. Vitaliy Zaporozhchenko

    thank you !

    June 27, 2013 at 07:26

    • I don’t know what for but you’re welcome 😉

      June 27, 2013 at 08:22

Leave a Reply

