Keepers of Light I Toning Book

I’ve bought some new books (yuy) and today some arrived! The first I’ll share with you I bought on the advise of Jeroen. He mentioned this book as a interesting take on alternative processes as opposed to the one I have used so far, the “Book of Alternative Photographic Processes” by Christopher James. “The Keepers of Light – a History & Working Guide to Early Photographic Processes” is written by William Crawford and I bought my copy second hand from Amazon. The only thing I might ask prior to buying preloved books in the future is whether the former owner was a smoker… From what I’ve read so far it’s really well written, on top of that reads easily and contains a whole lot of precious information. I’m looking forward to reading more!

Edit 13 Oct. 2014: I should have written more extensively about this book as the first part of the book really is so interesting to me. The following review describes exactly what I find so awesome about it so I’ll refrain from (failing to) topping it by just posting the link here πŸ™‚
Review “Keepers of Light”

The second book I received today is “The Master Photographer’s Toning Book” written by Tim Rudman. I already planned on buying this and after a little chat with Thomas Bertillson on Instagram I decided to finally take the plunge and buy it. A nice anecdote from the website of the seller: “Since this book sold out both UK and US editions and the publisher decided not to reprint for such a niche market, it has been commanding crazy prices for second hand copies on the internet. The highest reported was on Amazon for $999.99. Whilst this is clearly unusual the book is regularly advertised for several hundred $s or Β£s. For the last few years there has been a rising demand for a reprint at cover price – and at last, here it is. The rights have now reverted to the author, Tim Rudman, and in collaboration with Silverprint Ltd of London he has arranged a reprint from the original files by a printer that will give the same high quality production as the original. Despite inflation since this book was first printed in 2002 the cover price currently remains at Β£25.” Β  Anyway, I thought that was funny πŸ˜‰ I’m still awaiting two more books, hope they”ll arrive shortly!

Leave a Reply

