Mutilated Dolls

I have always wanted to do something with dolls. They can look so remote, so similar to humans,ย  apathetic and you can use them to create / emphasize those similarities without abusing a real human being. Recently I was wondering about what subject to photograph now that I passed the first experimental stages of working with Collodion. Dolls popped up in my mind so I decided to buy some. I ended up with three dolls that I took home with me and prepared for the first shoot.

The first idea was to burn theirย  faces, humans wear masks and I want to make masks in an ugly way to express how they make me feel. The cruelty of humans for it to show, the insincerity, the fakeness. I used a small torch to burn the faces and a screw driver to demolish the eyes. The latter actually felt pretty weird to execute, to bash in those eyes with a screw driver almost made me feel like a terrible person, maybe I am, haha. Anyway, a photo before and after; don’t mind the quality; there are better ways of photographing than using an iPhone but it does the job for these purposes:

Before: Them bloody happy dolls

Before: Them bloody happy dolls

After, the one on the left worked out the best, the middle one still has some modifications coming its way ;)

After: the one on the left worked out the best, the middle one still has some modifications coming its way ๐Ÿ˜‰

I tried to shoot a collodion plate that night with the emphasize on tried as my silver bath contained too little silver to make it happen…fixed that first and have to try again very soon. They are waiting for destiny to strike their fates ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

