Photo Fair Houten 22-11-09

Today we went to Houten near Utrecht where the annual Photo Fair took place. Great opportunity to nose through heaps of analogue stuff which I greatly enjoyed when we went to the fair in Bièvres France last time. It was there where I bought my Wet Plate camera and this time I was looking for a new lens. More specific, I was looking for a Petzval lens covering 8×10 (I have one but it’s for approx. half plate) to make portraits with. The lens would have to have a length of approx. 16″ long which is long and its diameter needs to be pretty big as it want it to be fast. For taking portraits that is pretty vital.

The fair actually was pretty small and with relatively few interesting items. A lot of old crap and just a lot of stuff I wouldn’t use. Also, the prices were very firm. I found 2 lenses that met my criteria: One was a Hermagis, a big one but the glass looked very dirty and we weren’t able to open it up which could enable us to clean it from the inside. For € 500,- I found that to be too big a risk to take so kept on walking.

Then we met the second one…wow…beautiful Darlot in absolute MINT condition. My wallet started crying and not long after so did I; it was just too expensive: € 950,- the guy asked. If I would’ve had it I would have bought it, it was in such pristine condition! The glass was perfect, the focus knob went as smooth as something and the brass shone as it never did. Even if I would have started negotiating the guy never would’ve dropped it below € 700,-. Too bad, too bad, too bad. It was sooo pretty! But I had to leave it on the table.

I then started looking for a Hasselblad Accumatte screen as I still need to buy that for my Hassie. Didn’t find it. What I did find however where some other treats:

A Super-Duper-Mass-Production Developing Tank!!! Handy for when you come back from holidays with 20 or so films!

A Super-Duper-Mass-Production Developing Tank!!! Handy for when you come back from holidays with 20 or so films!

Yes, a Plate Rack!! I was still missing that!

Yes, a Plate Rack!! I was still missing that!

Very special and an absolute Bargain; an iris for holding lenses

Very special and an absolute Bargain; an iris for holding lenses

And of course..a book! Photography; The first 30 Years 1840-1870

And of course..a book! Photography; The first 30 Years 1840-1870

Inside of the book; in the back mentioning of all the processes used to create the photos including date, size and person who made them

Inside of the book; in the back mentioning of all the processes used to create the photos including date, size and person who made them

It was a very entertaining day, too bad for that lens; I would’ve loved him! But some nice goodies came my way again and we got dates for new fairs so I don’t have to wait for Bièvres per se.

It was nice to meet Eddie again, too bad Peter and his dad didn’t make it, also for Ben and many thanx to Alex for getting us in! I will go for a membership soon.

Leave a Reply

